Welcome to North Carolina!

12-25-2012 – Merry Christmas Lights

I grew up (60s-70s) with big, gaudy, colorful Christmas lights. Lights on the tree, lights on the windows, on the bushes outside – the bigger the better.

But somewhere along the way, someone made (the mysterious “they”?) big, colorful lights tacky. Cheap. White trash. (insert additional terms here) You could (should) only have white lights. And not too many either. Be discreet. Tasteful. Don’t embarrass the neighborhood.

I never lost the love of the big colorful lights. Not mini-lights. Definitely not white lights. BIG. COLORFUL. BLINKING.

So it’s all about taste and nothing else. Colorful isn’t wrong . . . and neither are the white lights. Both represent families who honoring CHRISTmas.

So I rode around two neighborhoods near my apartment and took a couple of dozen photos of various homes. Some were white lights, some were colorful, but one stood out. And to that I say Ho-Ho-Ho.

Enjoy.

I'll have fries with that.

I’ll have fries with that.

2 responses

  1. I lived in a neighborhood once that was so lit up I had to wear sunglasses when I went walking at night. I don’t want to sound like Scrooge, but the way I celebrate Christ is to live simply and give freely. I don’t put up lights and my electric bill is only $30 a month.

    Thanks for the post. Merry Christmas and happy new year!

    December 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm

  2. Hey Indytony – thanks for stopping by. I could see their power meter spinning in the dark! I just love looking at all the lights (simple pleasures!). But you’re correct – celebrating Christ doesn’t require batteries! Have a good Christmas.

    December 25, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

