Welcome to North Carolina!

Guilford Battleground National Park – March 31, 2012

As a kid, I used to ride in the back of my parents’ station wagon, lying on a blanket, looking out the windows as we made our way through  (or around) this park – to get to a drive-in theatre located nearby (The Park Drive-In). I remember seeing different statues roll by, but never realized the importance of the park. After all, I was only around 6 or 7 at the time!

It’s hard to believe that this park is only 10 minutes from my home, but my only memories are that of a six-year old! So I decided to take a little photo walk late this afternoon and take a few pics.

The Battle for Guilford Courthouse took place for 90 minutes on March 15, 1781. At the time there were only about 50 people living in the area, but there were over 4000 American troops and 1700 British troops coming to take them on. While the British technically won the battle, they lost so many men, that when General Lord Cornwallis decided to take his troops to Yorktown (October 1781), his defeat there ended the war. It is said that after the battle, Lord Cornwallis stayed and gave aid as best as he could to the wounded of both sides.

I’m sure people in Greensboro have seen these sights many times over, but it was nice for me to see them through adult-eyes. I hope you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

