Welcome to North Carolina!

France – World War II – March 1, 2012

My dad died back in 1987. He never spoke much about his involvement in the war. I knew he was in the 101st Airborne and was a paratrooper. He participated in several major battles. But it wasn’t until recently we (my brothers and I) found these photos that he had saved from the war.

This is one where he apparently gave a young French boy a piece of gum. I don’t know who enjoyed the gum more – my dad or the boy! I’ve done little retouching on the photo and think the scratches and dust spots give it character.

Unfortunately the photographer is unknown. Enjoy.

Luther "Bud" Moore in France - World War II

6 responses

  1. mike moore

    mike moore here.. can you give me way to contact you??

    October 6, 2013 at 3:13 pm

  2. Hey – picturenc@triad.rr.com . Thanks for stopping by.

    October 6, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    • Anonymous

      Great Pictures!! Can you send me bigger size of the Roy Rogers picture.. Thanks

      October 6, 2013 at 4:37 pm

  3. Thanks. May I ask why you want a bigger size?

    October 6, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    • Anonymous

      I am a Roy Rogers collector.. Have pair of Roys pants that I brought at The Roy and Dale estate sale.. Would love to see if these are the same pants.. Hope you can help.. Any kin to the Moores in western ky.. Thanks

      October 6, 2013 at 6:43 pm

  4. I don’t think I have kin in Kentucky. My dad was from SW Virginia – Danville area. In fact, the avator is my grandfather (Roland Moore) who died in ’57 in Greensboro. Email me directly (email address in comments above) and I’ll send you the scan. It isn’t much bigger, but it may help. Good luck!

    October 6, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

