Welcome to North Carolina!

Friday Phone Pics – August 19, 2011

These are not the best phone pics, but they show a grande, old dame – the Carolina Theatre in Greensboro. Built in 1927, it survived the Great Depression, the downward spiral of downtown Greensboro and dodged the wrecking ball on more than one occasion, but is now a mainstay in the downtown area.

I saw my first movie (that I can remember seeing)  at the Carolina – BONNIE AND CLYDE – at about age 6 or 7 – taken by my grandmother! However, what I remember most about the movie was staring at the nude statues near our seats and my grandmother telling me “that’s nasty”!

The theatre was a bit dark and the Blackberry doesn’t have a great camera anway, but the pics mean something to me!

Here is a link to the history of the theatre: http://www.carolinatheatre.com/carolina-theatre-history.aspx . Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

